The Things We Do For Love

I Want This Forever

“Forever yours…. Here I Stand”- Usher

I was sitting  going through my computer, stumbled upon a folder that said wedding.  This folder was created during the planning and execution phases of my wedding.  My best friend Obu and my bride to be(at the time) decided that it would be a good idea to have a poem on the back of the program.  I volunteered to do it, even though they were skeptical. I’m not the most poetic person, but I know I can write for the most part.  I searched for inspiration to come up with a concept. Now, one would think just getting married is concept enough.  I started listening to Usher’s album “Here I Stand”.  The title track of the same name started playing.  The last line of the chorus resonated with me.  That line served as the basis to the poem. So here’s the poem dedicated to my wife and ended up on the back of the wedding program……………………………….

To Have and To Hold
By Phillip Wilds Jr.

I sit here trying to put words together
I try to use this pen, as the instrument to profess my love
How does one describe love?
Is it a feeling, a chemical imbalance?
Battle scars from “love lost” taught lessons
Teaching one that the mind, will only do as the heart allows
The heart and soul yearn for completion
We long for our other half
The longing has ended
As she steps closer to our destiny
The march towards forever starts, with a kiss
As days turn to months
Months turn to years
Forever yours, to have and to hold

7 Responses to “The Things We Do For Love”

  1. Chery Leroux Says:

    Good stuff man…

  2. Niceeee

  3. Tricha Griffith Says:

    that was beautiful phill!

  4. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Phillip Wilds Jr.. Phillip Wilds Jr. said: The Things We Do For Love: http://wp.me/pGCSZ-4a […]

Leave a Reply

